Make your own free website on
The League of United Latin American Citizens

Merrillville Council 5009
P.O.Box 11154
Merrillville, Indiana 46411

At a time when America has banded together as one, we will show the world that we are strong and united against terrorism.

May God bless the U.S.A.

LULAC History

The League of United Latin American Citizens( LULAC ) is the largest, oldest, and one of the most influential organizations representing the Hispanic community. LULAC was formed in 1929 in Corpus Christi, Texas when the Corpus Christi chapter of the Order Sons of America, the Order Knights of America of San Antonio, and the League of Latin American Citizens of South Texas merged. Throughout the decades, LULAC has worked to advocate equal opportunity for Hispanics in government, law, education, and business.

LULAC Mission

The Mission of the League of United Latin American Citizens is to advance the economic condition, educational attainment, political influence, health and civil rights of the Hispanic population of the United States.

Council 5009 Membership List

Council 5009 Officers Council 5009 Members
President: Ricardo M. Paz II Josie Alvarez-Garcia
Vice President: Raymond Paz Sr. Theresa Carrillo
Secretary: Open Augustine Hernandez
Treasurer: Mary Ann Montemayor Eve Hernandez
Parliamentarian: Ricardo Paz Sr. Guadelupe Lopez
Chaplin: Louisa Martinez Louisa Magallanez (State Treasurer)
Sargent at Arms: Henry Montemayor Tom Magallanez (Deputy State Director)
Zoraida Medellin
Joe Perez
John Ramos
Alicia Rios (Indiana State Director)
Larry Suarez

2002 Scholarship Information

The Council 5009 Scholarship Chairman has received the applications for the 2002 - 2003 academic year. The application is being duplicated, then will be distributed to Merrillville, Andrean, Crown Point, and Hobart High School guidance offices. If your Northwest Indiana high school is not included here, and you would like a scholarship application or more information, please write to the address at the top of this page, or send an E-Mail to:
***   Completed scholarship applicantions must be received no later than March 31, 2002.   ***

2001 Scholarship Recipients

Council 5009 is proud to announce the recipients of a LULAC Council 5009 Scholarship. These 19 students have achieved a successful balance of academics, extra curricular activities, and community involvement. Congratulations to all!

Jonathan A. Boggs Madeline Madrigal
Melissa M. Castillo Irene R. Menchaca
Katherine J. Castro Enrique M. Montemayor III
Edith K. Gomez Tracy Montemayor
Melissa Haro Marisa N. Munoz
Jennifer Hernandez Ruben Pedroza, Jr.
Michael A. Liess Robert E. Perez
Jennifer M. Maya Rebecca D. Ramirez
Jessica B. Maya * Victor M. Sendejas **
Zenaida Velez
*  Olivia Ponce Award **  Daniel Valdez Award

Council 5009 is the 2000 LULAC National Council of the Year

LULAC held its 71st Annual National Convention in Washington D.C. from June 25 through July 1, 2000. Seven LULAC National awards were bestowed to deserving LULAC members and councils across the United States and Puerto Rico. These awards are of the highest honor and are awarded to individuals and councils whose achievements and community service most exemplify the ideals of the League. One of the awards presented was the National LULAC Council of the Year. This year the award was presented to Merrillville Council 5009. Council president Ricardo Paz Sr. accepted the plaque and was congratulated by LULAC National President, Rick Dovalina. Congratulations to Merrillville Council 5009 for being the first National Council of the Year for the new millennium!

If you would like to contact Merrillville Council 5009, please send an E-Mail to, or write to the address at the top of this page. Thank you.

Click here to E-Mail Council 5009

You are numberto visit this Web page.
This page was created on Monday, April 3, 2000.
It was last modified on Monday, January 21, 2002.

Copyright 2000 - 2002
Paz Enterprises, Inc.
Paz II Web Master
All Rights Reserved.